FINAL Halloween Bingo Book List!

After a week or so of online research and I have, finally, determined my list for the Halloween bingo! I tried to strike an even mix of new and old/popular and obscure. I wanted as much variety as possible, and I must admit I am pretty proud of my list. (Also, yes, I have nixed a few books from the version of this list I published a few days ago, for various reasons.) Here goes . . . 

 

 

 

Read by candle or flashlight: North American Lake Monsters, by Nathan Ballingrud 

Magical realism: American Gods, by Neil Gaiman 

Witches: Grimm Memorials, by R. Patrick Gates 

Horror: The Damnation Game, by Clive Barker 

Black cat: ‘The Black Cat,’ by Edgar Allen Poe 

Diverse author: The Good House, by Tananarive Due 

Ghost stories/haunted houses: Ghost Stories of an Antiquary, by M.R. James

Young adult horrorAsylum, by Madeleine Roux 

Scary woman authorBroken Monsters, by Lauren Beukes 

Read with friends: IT, by Stephen King 

Grave or graveyard: The Orpheus Process, by Daniel Gower

Mystery: The Woman In Cabin 10, by Ruth Ware 

Gothic: In A Glass Darkly, by Sheridan Le Fanu 

Creepy crawlies: Exquisite Corpse, by Poppy Z. Brite (wasn’t really sure about this category, but apparently this book is really gruesome and creepy?) 

Fall into a good book: The Halloween Tree, by Ray Bradbury 

Locked room mystery: ‘The Yellow Wallpaper,’ Charlotte Perkins Gillman 

Dark and stormy night: The Bad Place, by Dean Koontz (was not too sure about this one, either, but my hard copy’s cover depicts a dark and stormy night . . . so, going with this one!) 

Set in New EnglandHarvest Home, by Thomas Tryon 

Full moon: The Nightwalker, by Thomas Tessier 

Vampires or werewolves: Interview With The Vampire, by Anne Rice 

Supernatural: Hell House, by Richard Matheson 

Classic horror: The Turn of the Screw, by Henry James 

Pumpkin: Usher’s Passing, by Robert McCammon 

Set on HalloweenThe Haunted Mask, by R.L. Stine 

 

There it is! I think I hit almost every author I wanted to, though I’m sad I couldn’t fit in Shirley Jackson, Raymond Carver, or Peter Straub. Ah, such is life. I think this list is very manageable — the only extraordinarily thick work in the queue is IT — so I should be able to get to cover all of them. Here’s hoping, anyway. Can’t wait to get started! 

Original post:
theguywholovesbooks.booklikes.com/post/1457406/final-halloween-bingo-book-list

Leave a Reply

